Disaster Management

The Municipal Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council was created as one of the provisions of Republic Act 10121 or Philippine Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Act of 2010. MDRRMC is composed of the following:

Municipal Mayor as the Chairperson; Vice Mayor as the Co-Chairperson, Sangguniang Bayan Members who chair the Appropriation, Public Safety and Social Services Committees; MDRRM Officer; Municipal Administrator; department heads of municipal offices; Department of Education District Supervisor; Fire Marshall of the Bureau of Fire Protection; Chief of Police of Philippine National Police; representatives of Philippine Army’s infantry battalion and PNP’s Special Action Force; Liga ng Mga Barangay; Philippine National Red Cross and representatives of non-government organizations.

MDRRMC is tasked to approved, monitor and evaluate the implementation of local disaster risk reduction management council and regularly review and test the plan consistent with national and local planning programs; ensure the integration of disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation into local development plans, programs and budgets; recommend the implementation of forced or preemptive evacuation of local residents if necessary and, to convene the municipal council every three months or as necessary.

The Municipal Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office, on the other hand, was created in virtue of Ordinance 87-S-2011 sponsored by Councilor Vergil Robles. It is tasked, among others, to direct, develop, implement and coordination disaster risk reduction management programs in the municipality; disseminate information and raise public awareness of hazards; and to respond to emergencies and carry out recovery activities in affected areas.

MDDRM Officer leads the office and assists the Municipal Mayor who acts as the Chairperson of the MDRRM Council. Working with them are other government agencies grouped in six functions – Philippine National Police (PNP), Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP), Office of the Mayor (OM), Sangguniang Bayan and non-government representatives for Early Warning; OM, BFP, PNP and Municipal Health Office (MHO), and representative of Philippine Army’s 16th Infantry Battalion, Police Regional Mobile Group, and Special Action Force for Search and Rescue; OM, SB, Municipal Planning and Development Council, Municipal Budget Office, Municipal Treasurer’s Office and General Services Office for Logistic.

Municipal Social Welfare Development, MHO, Department of Education, OM and representatives of NGOs for Evacuation Management; OM, MSWD, MHO, DepEd, Philippine National Red Cross and NGOs for Relief Operation; and Municipal Engineer Office, Municipal Agriculture Office, MSWD, OM, DepEd and NGOs for Rehabilitation.